Presentation

Cultures Maison is a festival dedicated to publishing and distribution structures of comics and graphic or narrative works. Since 2010, the festival is held once a year at Maison des Cultures de Saint-Gilles, Brussels.

Three days long, Cultures Maison welcomes fifty Belgian and international publishers, authors and artists in order to promote, support and disseminate their works.

Most of the Belgian structures are present as well as a wide selection of European publishers.
The landscape of independent publishing is widely represented since you can find the most important publishers currently in activity as well as micro-publishing collectives, fanzines or self-published authors.

On top of the will to compensate for a lack of distribution and visibility of independent publishers, the festival attempts to create an inter-structural network where publishers and authors are able to associate, exchange experiences and share distribution networks. Meetings, conferences, debates and workshops are organized for this purpose.

Cultures Maison is also particularly careful not to fall into the trap of cleavages (social, cultural or generational). Above all, the event offers high quality, personal books. It strives to attract the largest number and tends to be popular in the noble sense of the term.  

The festival is not especially dedicated to insiders, but it aims at visitors who are interested and curious. The program is accessible but ambitious and uncompromising.

Cultures Maison is a cultural and democratic event : no participation fee is asked to the exhibitors and access to all program events is free for visitors. The festival offers to the widest possible public the opportunity to discover and to learn more about international creations.


CULTURES MAISON 7 >> 120 RUE DE BELGRADE 1060 SAINT-GILLES >> 09/10/11 SEPTEMBER 2016


The poster for the 2016 edition was created by Davor Gromilović.

Présentation

Cultures Maison est un festival dédié aux structures d’édition et de diffusion de bande dessinée de création et d’oeuvres graphiques et narratives. Depuis 2010 le festival se tient une fois par an à la Maison des Cultures de Saint-Gilles, Bruxelles.

Pendant trois jours Cultures Maison accueille une cinquantaine d'éditeurs, auteurs et artistes, belges et internationaux de la scène alternative dans le but de les promouvoir, de les soutenir et de diffuser leurs ouvrages.

La plupart des structures belges y sont présentes ainsi qu’une large sélection d’éditeurs européens.
Le paysage de l’édition indépendante est très largement représenté à Cultures Maison puisqu’on y trouve aussi bien les plus importants éditeurs actuellement en activités, que des collectifs de micro-édition, des fanzines ou encore des auteurs qui s’auto-éditent.

Outre la volonté de pallier un manque de distribution et de visibilité des éditeurs indépendants, la démarche du festival est également de créer un réseau interstructurel où les éditeurs et les auteurs pourront se fédérer, s’associer, échanger de l’expérience et partager des réseaux de distribution. Des rencontres, conférences, débats et workshops sont organisés dans ce but.

Cultures Maison est également particulièrement attentif à ne pas tomber dans le piège du clivage (social, intellectuel ou générationnel). L’événement propose avant tout, l’accès à des ouvrages personnels et de qualité, au plus grand nombre. Il se veut populaire dans le sens le plus noble du terme.

Pour autant si le festival n’est pas dédié à des initiés, il s’adresse à des visiteurs intéressés et curieux en proposant une programmation accessible mais ambitieuse et sans concession.

Cultures Maison est un événement à vocation culturelle et démocratique, aucun frais de participation n’est demandé aux exposants et l’accès à toutes les manifestations du programme est gratuit pour les visiteurs.



L'affiche de l'édition 2016 a été réalisée par Davor Gromilović.